Connect with us


FG Declares June 12 Public Holiday



Democracy Day

In honour of the celebration of Democracy Day 2023, the Nigerian government has officially declared Monday, June 12 as a public holiday, News About Nigeria reports.

The announcement was made by Dr. Oluwatoyin Akinlade, the Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Interior, on behalf of the Federal Government.

Akinlade took the opportunity to congratulate Nigerians on this significant occasion and highlighted the nation’s democratic journey, which has experienced both challenges and successes, much like other countries worldwide.

Acknowledging the resilience of the Nigerian people and the nation’s institutions in upholding the principles of democratic governance, Akinlade emphasized the importance of reflecting on the progress made and celebrating the milestones achieved thus far.

Furthermore, she encouraged Nigerians and friends of Nigeria to embrace the spirit of appreciation and optimism as they envision a brighter future for the country’s democracy.

Recall that in 2018, President Muhammadu Buhari made a significant decision to change Nigeria’s Democracy Day from May 29 to June 12.

This change was aimed at honoring the late Moshood Abiola, who emerged as the winner of the 1993 presidential election.

Although the election results clearly indicated that Mr. Abiola had won, the military government under Ibrahim Babangida failed to officially declare him as the winner or swear him into office.

Subsequently, during Sani Abacha’s military regime, Mr. Abiola was unjustly imprisoned while he fought to assert his mandate.

Tragically, he passed away while still in prison in 1998.

Despite persistent calls from various quarters, previous administrations have neglected the demands to honor Mr. Abiola and recognize June 12 as Democracy Day.

However, the Buhari government took a different stance.

They announced their intention to bestow upon Mr. Abiola the highest national honor, the Grand Commander of the Federal Republic (GCFR), which is typically reserved for presidents and former presidents.