Connect with us


NLC To Decide On Planned Strike As Government Approves N35,000 Wage Provision



The Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC) will today, Monday, decide on its next move as it meets with its leadership to deliberate on the Federal Government’s N35,000 provisional wage award for all treasury-paid federal workers over a six-month period.

The President of the NLC, Joe Ajaero, revealed this following a four-hour meeting with government delegation headed by the President’s Chief of Staff, Femi Gbajabiamila, News About Nigeria reports.

Ajaero emphasized that the decision regarding the indefinite strike scheduled for October 3 could not be made unilaterally without consulting its internal organs.

“I don’t have much to say than what the Chief of Staff has said. We’ve been meeting and we’ve looked at almost all the issues, all the promissory notes from the government, and we’ll look at how to translate them into reality and make them workable,” Ajaero said.

He went on to address concerns regarding the wage increase, clarifying that all categories of workers would receive the wage adjustment, canceling widespread reports of low, middle, or high-income differences.

The meeting, which included virtual participation from Governor Abdulrazak Abdulrahman of Kwara State and Chairman of the Nigeria Governors Forum (NGF), and Governor Dapo Abiodun of Ogun State, also had several key government ministers and officials in attendance.

Some notable officials who graced the occasion are Minister of Finance and Coordinating Minister of the Economy, Wale Edun; Minister of Labour and Employment, Simon Lalong; Minister of State, Labour, Nkeiruka Onyejeocha; Minister of Budget and Economic Planning, Abubakar Atiku Bagudu; Minister of Humanitarian Affairs and Poverty Alleviation, Betta Edu; Minister of Industry, Trade and Investment, Doris Uzoka-Anite; Head of Service of the Federation, Dr. Folasade Yemi-Esan; and National Security Adviser (NSA).

Meanwhile, the Labour delegation was led by NLC President Joe Ajaero. Others are Deputy President of the TUC, Dr. Tommy Etim Okon, NLC General Secretary Emma Ugboaja, TUC General Secretary Nuhu Toro, among others.