Connect with us

Metro News

EFCC Secures Convictions, Sentences 41 Fraudsters In Anambra



EFCC Reveals How Terrorists Are Using Traders To Fund Insecurity

A Federal High Court in Onitsha, Anambra State, has handed down one-year prison sentences to 41 individuals for their involvement in internet fraud-related activities, News About Nigeria reports.

The convictions were secured by the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) following their arrest by the Enugu Zonal Command.

The convicts, who were found guilty of charges including obtaining money by false pretence, possessing fraudulent documents, impersonating, and aiding in crime, pleaded guilty to the offences. 

The court, presided over by Justices S. M. Shuaibu and Hauwa Inuwa, delivered the verdicts.

According to the EFCC statement released on Wednesday, Justice Inuwa convicted and sentenced 27 of the individuals on May 2, while the remaining 14 were convicted on May 3. 

Those sentenced on May 3 were given the option to pay a N100,000 fine each in place of imprisonment.

In addition to the prison terms, the court-mandated community service for the convicts and ordered the auction of items seized during their arrests.

These items, including mobile phones and laptops, will be auctioned through the EFCC, with proceeds directed to the Treasury Single Account.

Among the convicted individuals are Douglas James, Raphael Uwakwe, Paul Kalu, Chisom Linus, Chiemezie Nweke, Eze Stanley, Ndubuisi Nwafor, Ifeanyi Samuel, Nwosu Chukwuemeka, Madueke Emmanuel, Edozie Timothy, Ahmed Lukman, Godwin Julius, Okafor Chiemerie, Ugochukwu Ena, Chukwuemeka Obiji, Chimaobi Gabriel, Abonyi Jude, Chiemelie Christian, and Okafor Desmond.

Others include Jezreel Arihiakamah Chinwendu, Paul Okereke Chiadi, Peter Chidera Iwu, Onyeji Victor Chinecherem, Tochukwu Eze Solomon, Fred Chidera Okoye, Ezema Chiemerie Stanley, Emeka Ogbonna Daniel, Obinna Stanley Okafor, Udochukwu Peter Nnaewezie, Ebuka Johnson Olu, Okochi Ebuka Stanley, Promise Ogbodo Echezona, Ebuka Chukwu Joshua, Chisom Henry Udeagwueze, Ihechi Okechukwu Bright, Chibueze Maxwell Stephen, Ebuka Lucky Nwankwo, Isah Chinonso Peter, Ifeanyi Oguoke Kingsley, and Chinonso Eze Innocent.