Connect with us


Lawyer Lists Tinubu’s Ministers Who Committed Contempt Of Court



Democracy Day: Tinubu Promises New Minimum Wage Bill

Nigeria’s legal practitioner Daniel Makolo has reportedly filed a motion at the National Industrial Court in Abuja, to imprison two of President Bola Tinubu’s Ministers for contempt of court, News About Nigeria reports.

According to Makolo, the two Ministers Olubunmi Tunj-Ojo and Lateef Fagbemi failed to comply with a court ruling issued on January 4, 2023.

The individuals in question now hold key positions in the government, with Olubunmi Tunj-Ojo serving as the Minister of Interior and Lateef Fagbemi as the Attorney General of the Federation and Minister of Justice.

Additionally, Makolo’s application extends to various boards, including those overseeing the Civil Defence, Prison Service, Immigration, and Fire departments.

His grievances stems from the unjust dismissal from the Nigeria Immigration Service in 2017. He has now turned to the courts to seek redress and reinstatement to his former role as Comptroller.

In doing so, Makolo is also calling for the imprisonment of Wura Adepoju, the acting Comptroller-General of the Immigration Service, and Folashade Yemi-Esan, the Head of Service, for their alleged failure to obey the court order.

The issue began in January when the court issued an order to the Minister of Interior, the then head of the service, and others to reinstate Makolo into the Nigeria Immigration Service with the rank of comptroller.

However, this order was reportedly ignored, prompting Makolo to take further legal action.

The Form 49, referred to as the motion for committal, was officially filed on May 10, 2023, under the suit number NICN/ABJ/103m/2023, while the hearing for the case is scheduled for October 9, 2023.

The defendants, including the two ministers and other implicated officials, have been summoned to appear in court and provide explanations as to why a committal order should not be issued against them.