Connect with us


NELFUND Expands Student Loan Scheme To 12 Additional State-Owned Tertiary Institutions



NELFUND Expands Student Loan Scheme To 12 Additional State-Owned Tertiary Institutions

The Nigerian Education Loan Fund (NELFUND) has announced the onboarding of 12 more state government-owned tertiary institutions to its student loan application portal.

This was contained in a statement issued by Nasir Ayitogo, Head, Media and Public Relations, at Nigerian Education Loan Fund (NELFUND).

News About Nigeria reports that this development brings the total number of participating institutions to 48, with students from 121 institutions still awaiting verification.

The newly onboarded institutions include Abia State Polytechnic, Benue State University, and Yobe State University, among others (see full list below).

NELFUND Managing Director, Mr. Akintunde Sawyerr, expressed gratitude to the institutions that have submitted their data and recognised the exemplary leadership of Governor Senator Ademola Jackson Nurudeen Adeleke of Osun State.

The fund urges remaining institutions to submit their students’ data to the Student Verification Portal (SVS) to enable their students to benefit from the scheme.

Students from the newly onboarded institutions can now apply for the loan on the NELFUND website.

Below are the newly onboarded institutions:

1. Abia State Polytechnic
2. Benue State University, Makurdi
3. College of Education, Waka-Biu
4. University of Medical and Applied Sciences, Enugu State
5. Aliko Dangote University of Science and Technology, Wudil, Kano State
6. Kwara Polytechnic
7. Lagos State University of Science and Technology
8. Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida University, Lapai, Niger State
9. Olabisi Onabanjo University
10. Abraham Adesanya Polytechnic
11. Taraba State Polytechnic
12. Yobe State University

On May 24, the NELFUND portal went live and became accessible to students of tertiary institutions.

President Bola Tinubu enacted an initial version of the student loan policy in June 2023 to grant interest-free loans to students.

The scheme was to commence in October 2023 but implementation was repeatedly deferred until a re-enactment in April 2024.

Last month, NELFUND approved the disbursement of the student loans to all successful applicants in its first rollout.