Connect with us


Sanwo-Olu Elected South-West Governors Forum Chairman



Sanwo-Olu Elected South-West Governors Forum Chairman

During the South West Governors’ Forum’s current meeting in Lagos, Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu of Lagos State was elected to serve as its chairman.

News About Nigeria Sanwo-Olu will now lead the forum, representing the collective interests of the South West states.

All six governors in the southwest adopted and unanimously elected Lagos Sanwo-Olu as chairman.

Governors from South West states convened at the Lagos House in Ikeja, Lagos State, for their zonal meeting earlier today.

The meeting was attended by Governors Lucky Aiyedatiwa, governor of Ondo State; Dapo Abiodun, governor of Ogun State; Seyi Makinde, governor of Oyo State, Ademola Adeleke, governor of Osun State; and Biodun Oyebanji, governor of Ekiti State.

The closed-door meeting began around noon at Governor Sanwo-Olu’s office.

Earlier, in a statement on Monday, Gboyega Akosile, Sanwo-Olu’s media aide, said the meeting would address issues affecting the south-west zone and Nigeria as a whole.

“The South-West Governors Forum is the umbrella body for all six governors in the geo-political zone,” Akosile said.

The meeting, convened by the South-West Governors Forum, aims to tackle regional issues, discuss the implementation of the new national minimum wage, and address broader national concerns.

This forum is the collective platform for the six governors within the South-West geopolitical zone.

Former Ondo State Governor, Rotimi Akeredolu, who passed away months ago, was the last chairman of the forum.

The Lagos state governor, Sanwo-Olu, succeeded the late Ondo State governor, Oluwarotimi Akeredolu, who served as the forum’s chairman until his passing on December 27, 2023.